Missing the Beat

Last week so much time was spent on kickball and on Friday’s dinner (drool over the menu here) that I hardly had time for anything else. It went by in a rush. It took me until today to get caught up on emails and gossip. I was seriously behind, and realistically, it’s only going to get backed up again. That’s just how summer rolls.

This week, we’re gonna try to take it easy and eat a lot of popsicles. It’s the only week of the summer where both boys are home for the entire week and there aren’t any camps or plans with grandparents, and we’re headed to Eastern Washington–to sunny Lake Chelan–at the beginning of the weekend.

We stay in a little time share condo that Joe’s been going to with his family since he was a kid. It’s small–barely enough room for all of us, with a little poorly stocked kitchen. This means that we eat a lot of meals that are easy to prepare and require a minimum of devices and gadgets and pots and pans. I don’t like to bring a lot of things with us, since with 5 of us in the car it gets pretty full pretty fast.

I do like to bring a lot of pre-planned and pre-prepared foods to reduce the amount of time spent in the kitchen or at the store for forgotten items. When I’m on vacation, I wanna be on vacation, dammit!

So, I’ve been thinking about it for a few days and what I’ve come up with stinks. I’m totally out of ideas and I can’t stand to look at Tastespotting or Pinterest any more than I have to. I don’t want to eat pasta or tacos every night, even though I do love a good taco bar.

I’m calling on you, dear friends, for some advice. I’d love to hear your favorite easy to prepare meals for weekend getaways in hot locales. We like to keep it fresh and simple with lots of veggies; not a lot of spice since the kids are kinda picky; and of course, kosher.

If you’ve got any bright ideas, share them here and let’s see what we can come up with!

6 thoughts on “Missing the Beat

  1. I’m afraid I’m not totally up to speed on all the various kosher guidelines, so apologize if a few of these fall out of bounds, but hopefully one or two will work. Have a great v-k!

    Breakfast: Baked Eggs with Sauteed Spinach, Garlic, Artichoke Hearts, and Cheddar – You can make a big bunch of them together and skip having to take individual orders (over easy…scrambled…over hard!) – http://wp.me/puWta-kY

    Lunch: Summer Caprese Salad and Good Crusty Bread – Everyone loves it, you won’t be sweating in the kitchen, and it couldn’t be easier. – http://wp.me/puWta-dL

    Dinner: Grilled Fig and Prosciutto Flatbreads – You could do something other than the prosciutto, but grilled pizza with ready made dough from Trader Joes or the like are delicious, easy, and everyone always loves them – http://wp.me/puWta-4k

  2. I made this last week under similar circumstances: http://emmycooks.com/2012/07/11/tomato-pesto-and-mozzarella-sandwich-for-a-crowd/ We also grilled salmon burgers one night, and I thought about making this cold soba salad, bringing the noodles and pre-made dressing and adding veggies and tofu/chicken there: http://emmycooks.com/2012/05/10/buckwheat-soba-salad-with-spicy-almond-sauce/

    That’s all I’ve got, it was hard to come up with ideas for good and easy vacation food! I look forward to seeing other people’s suggestions.

    • Oh yes, I did see that pesto sandwich. It looks so good. I love a good sandwich. I’m thinking about burgers too…salmon might be a nice change. It sure is hard to think of vacation food when it’s just you in charge of all the meals. I love when we get a chance to go out of town with friends or family and we can all pitch in together.

Leave a Reply

